How Much do Authors Earn?

My sister recently asked me why I bother writing pocket novels when they pay so little. It’s true. You get £300 for 38,000 words or £350 for nearly £50,000. I’d earn so much more if I sold that many words as short stories.

But if you play your cards right, you can also sell your pocket novel to Ulverscroft for another £300, you can register for secondary use payments with the ALCS, and self-publish as well, all for the same novella. Me, I’m rubbish at marketing. Can’t sell raffle tickets let alone books, so I do’t make much money at self-publishing. But some traditionally published authors I know are struggling to make money. Most have other jobs to pay the mortgage.

Other reasons to consider writing pocket novels include:

  1. Relatively little competition
  2. No rounds and rounds of editing if your book is accepted
  3. Swift payment in advance
  4. Clear guidelines available.

I find pocket novels excellent practice for writing longer stories for a well-defined market. And although there is relatively little competition compared with finding a publisher or agent, that doesn’t mean they’re ‘easy’ to write. But a few simple tips will help you succeed. Ignore these at your peril!

Read the guidelines (so many people don’t!) Click here for My Weekly guidelines, and here for The People’s Friend guidelines.

Read recent copies of pocket novels to get a feel for the sorts of stories the publisher wants – and what they don’t want. Find your nearest stockist using this store finder website. They’ll be displayed in store with the magazines. You can order them directly or take out a subscription from the DC Thomson shop.

After that, write the best book you can. It’s easy to fall into the trap of ‘that’ll do’ (like I did), thinking you’ve seen something similar written by someone else. Maybe, but you still need to make sure you have well-developed character arcs, a good plot, a good writing technique and don’t take short cuts. Some of these novels appear deceptively simple, but when you sit down and analyse them, they’re tightly plotted with several separate areas of potential conflict gradually ratcheting up and increasing the stakes.

Meanwhile I’ve not spent much time writing recently as I’ve been getting my latest novel ready for publishing.

Dear William started life as a pocket novel but the unabridged version is now available on Amazon in ebook and paperback. It’s a historical romance set in the 1790s in West Yorkshire just as the industrial revolution is gathering pace, and features a talented apothecary struggling to survive when her husband sells up and makes off with the proceeds.

But I really want to get back to writing. That’s what we writers like best.

And I’ve also so many books to read as well, starting with a new author to me, Diane Ascroft, a Canadian living in Ireland who writes cozy mysteries set in Canada. And Out of Options is currently available free on Amazon, so what’s not to like?

But if you prefer short stories, why not sign up for Christopher Fielden’s newsletter? I find him a great source of information and this month, his newsletter lists 17 short story competitions…

3 thoughts on “How Much do Authors Earn?

  1. Well done Sue, for all your achievements and success.

    The thing with PN’s that they need to fit a certain criteria, which for me, takes away any creative freedom. If I’m writing a longer piece, I’d like to write what I want!

    I have an idea for a novel of around 60,00 words (or more). I’d be looking for a small e- publisher if I went ahead. If they accepted it, realistically, I’d be lucky if I made around £10 -20 a year – and that’s a generous estimation! It’d be a labour of love, really. I wouldn’t see it as a profit making venture.

    This is what puts me off starting it. Also, no doubt the publisher would expect me to promote it across all SM platforms. I’m not IT savvy – that’s why I’m only on one form of SM!

    Like

  2. It’d take up a lot of time and effort, plus it would also take me away from my normal output so for me, it’s not really worth it.

    Also, I’m not a cool young dude, familiar with all SM platforms. I don’t want to deal with the demands of a publisher, urging me to get on tick tock and register with this, that and the other!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.